Injury Lawyers in Colorado

Brain Injury Attorneys

Is Motorcycle Insurance Required In Florida

Is Motorcycle Insurance Required In Florida

Florida laws require drivers of motor vehicles with four or more wheels to carry personal injury protection (PIP). With this, you are guaranteed payment of medical bills of up to $2,500 but only if you file within 14 days. The PIP can also pay up to $10,000 for medical bills resulting from emergencies. Since motorcycles are two wheeled motor vehicles, insurers are not required to offer PIP for motorcycle riders. This is unfortunate because motorcycle injuries are often more severe than car accident injuries.

Florida Is A No-Fault State

No-fault auto insurance laws ensure that expenses resulting from a motor vehicle accident are covered regardless of who was at-fault in the accident. This means that each party involved in the accident should file a claim with their own insurance company after an accident. In other states, you are required to file a claim with the insurance company that covers the driver that caused your accident.

The no-fault laws in Florida do not apply to motorcycles. This means that you will either have to pay out of pocket for your medical bills or pursue compensation from the at-fault driver’s insurance. You can seek compensation for medical bills, pain and suffering, lost income, and repairs for your motorcycle. An experienced and knowledgeable motorcycle injury lawyer can help you file a lawsuit against the driver that caused the accident and recover the maximum amount of compensation you are entitled to.

Obtaining Motorcycle Insurance In Florida

To avoid financial disaster resulting from a motorcycle accident, you need to obtain motorcycle insurance. You can buy coverage from an insurance company licensed to do business in Florida, or obtain a Financial Responsibility Certificate, or you can get a Self-Insurance Certificate from the Bureau of Financial Responsibility based on net worth. While you are not required to provide proof of motorcycle insurance when you register your motorcycle, you have to provide proof when you are involved in a motorcycle accident.

People who fail to provide proof face motorcycle license revocation, and suspension of the registration and license of the motorcycle. You will also be required to pay additional fees if you want to regain your motorcycle privileges. The following are Florida’s minimum requirements for motorcycle insurance:

  • $10,000 for one person for bodily injury liability
  • $20,000 for two or more people for bodily injury liability
  • $10,000 per crash for property damage liability

You also have the option of purchasing uninsured motorist coverage (UM)  to help with medical bills if you are injured in the accident and the other driver does not have insurance.

Why You Need A Physical Proof Of Motorcycle Insurance Coverage

You need a physical proof of insurance coverage to save time when a law enforcement officer stops you and asks for proof that your motorcycle is insured. The forms of proof that can be accepted by a police officer include a physical insurance card from your insurer, a digital insurance card, or a photo of your insurance card. You can also show the police officer your online account information on a webpage or present your self-insurance certificate.

Comments are closed.